Skip navigation

Niels Diffrient in his Ted Talk on Changing the way we sit gave me an idea for a promotional landing page for a new product.

The first step was to sketch the draft layout of the page…

The next step was to get everything in photoshop, once I figured out what menu items I wanted and how I wanted the different graphical elements laid out. The logo and tag lines were easy enough to figure out, all were a play on the word “different”, except with the “misspelling” (Niels Diffrient’s surname is actually spelled that way).

Next step: pick a background and setting. I wanted something luxurious yet mysterious, functional and with depth. So a dark room would be perfect, with some nice wallpaper. I wasn’t satisfied with that, so I threw in a spotlight for good measure.

The next phase was to figure out a way to succinctly, effectively, display the major selling points of the product. I chose a minimalist approach, allowing the chair to “sell itself”.

The best way to bring the design all together was to use Adobe Flash, with some animation and other graphical effects. At this point, I realized that the “designer” link wasn’t really necessary, so I removed it.

And voila. finished product! http://lab.weareapostrophe.com/diffrient/

Leave a comment